top of page
Search
  • Lukaschik Gleb

Backtrace




Without any announce I once saw in Sly's filmography “Backtrace” which expecting time willn't so long. Knowledge about this film, as made for VOD, was guiding me only in thoughts that Sylvestre Stallone isn’t against to mar his great filmography since “Guardians of the Galaxy-2”. I didn't expect unbelievable, but gave a chance.


Introduction scene opened to me understanding of how it will end and I was right. Cinematographer made a good work, every actor is well in his performance, director not just a qualified, he has a not bad potential (I even liked his Officer Down.), but screenplay is an ordering work. I watched only for reason to sure that mister Stallone allowed to act in this type of cinema. Narration of Backtrace haven’t any common with real world. This screenplay had a possibility to be a good story, but didn’t. Characters stay in their frames. Matthew Modine’s bank robber didn’t get motives for escape and police in represent of Sylvester Stallone’s hero and few extras in most part for view when this weak investigation could be solved in short terms on any stage. Even the using of stamps haven’t logical sense. For example, in one episode couple of wrong men makes some shootout in wilderness outskirt and have all preferences to check that everybody are dead, but one of them screams “Get out here!” and other one didn’t arrive to lying on the ground main hero. Not only there, but every time director Brian A. Miller fails in making of suspense. As I wrote, he isn’t bad in directing, but he has scenes with built primitive and absolutely losing in directing Miller picks in the last action act where sometimes I was making a back rewind that understand what happened in this disgusting collaboration of directing and editing.

Sometimes author of this screenplay Mike Maples was harming my ear by phrases, but I didn’t feel awkward myself. It was a nothing special. As same reputation come from movies produced by Emmett/Furla/Oasis Films (since August calls MoviePass Films.), which very rare has an excellent. Backtrace isn’t out the line.

bottom of page