top of page
Search
  • Lukaschik Gleb

Review derails after two episodes. Frasier (2023).


ParamountCross revived Frasier with all bringing of regret about it. I was in familiar philosophical thought on why good jokes only in trailer and almost absent in show. Comeback was without hiring scriptwriters who know comedy.


Saved stylistic of credits and good old familiar protagonist. Frasier in original broadcasting begins with arrival in hometown and tries to build relationship with father with whom he has disagreements in personalities. Similar, but vice versa role he has in revival. Just only, the return is rip-off of nineties show in which a lead star from original involved. Almost all scriptwriters are dilettantes as that their filmographies expose. One was involved in comedic cartoon show American Dad!, which is incapable to be funny. A second coming of Frasier had occurrences in places about being predictable in jokes, an explosive failing thing for comedy. Basic misfire of revival that writers think they do jest by saying simple phrases, which people usually can say to each other as it could be “I’m going to buy water”. No entity for laughing as it does audience. I was in other world in watching first episode. There I stopped to recognize Frasier after seeing half of it.

Conflicts between characters don’t turn into comedy. Relationship of Frasier and his son is social drama when confrontation of two university professors is offense to each other. I can’t stand and look on very adult kids, baby stuff, dispute on sharing room with somebody and that Negro professor insults elder person. All of that almost identical frightened me on reality, which I always aspired to evade and almost succeeded by wishing to live alone, revenge and burn bridges with amoral people and be happy by that I never had kids – I am not supposed to come to these associations when I watch what considers itself as comedy.

I had discomfort from ostensible jokes in multiple times. These characters with whom a couple of times happened jumping in movements due to rude editing, I was not wishful to see these personalities and their performers. Anders Keith is fatal zero of acting who can’t do comedy and shows a helpless slapstick in beginning. He makes unpleasant comedy what also of mustn’t be. The rest typical grey youth are Jess Salgueiro who can overact and Jack Cuttmore-Stone can lose his natural. Toks Olagundoye presenting for political correctness is never be natural. Must diversity, which had occasional appearance, was supposed to be definitive reason for me before watching. This show should joke about that.

Nicholas Lyndhurst and Kelsey Grammer are only two who give full live in their character. Frasier’s performer does it even in embarrassment with which, I think, Grammer doesn’t agree with me.


I didn’t want to carry on after the end of first episode. Nevertheless, I checked the next one, which having Stephen Lloyd as scriptwriter who has credits in funny Modern Family and deadly not funny How I Met Your Mother. A second episode caused a little, but it was forceful to be honest in this time, laughs. It had the most exceptions in what should be jokes and had no texts and outside laughing on nothing, it just wasn’t funny comedy and becomes nonsense in situations in which Frasier gets on whom can note that he was familiar again there.


bottom of page