top of page
Search
  • Lukaschik Gleb

Review derails at the second time in this day. Sniper: G.R.I.T. – 53 minutes.


Review derails at the second time in this day. Sniper: G.R.I.T. – Global Response & Intelligence Team – 53 minutes.


New film in Sniper series is always festivity for me. Every time it’s wonderful screenplay and intrigue about a place in the world, which takes set in this time. Sniper: G.R.I.T. – Global Response & Intelligence Team is a tenth part came in the year when thirty years ago was released a first movie. My anticipation was inclined mostly to positive though I had some discomfort from previous Sniper: Rogue Mission. Watched trailer put anxieties and they, as usually, realized.


Oliver Thompson is a name of disaster. One of three scriptwriters of eighth movie Sniper: Assassin’s End and since Sniper: Rogue Mission he is solely writer and director. I criticized previous part for one confusion in a plot, but it was possible to ignore. His name in both credits again, what I expected, already brought to concerns. I didn’t mention in review on Sniper: Rogue Mission that addition of humor for entertain audience had of discomfort for me due to Sniper films are always serious and gritty. However, I accepted those unwishful jokes.

Series never made a mistake such in Sniper: G.R.I.T. – Global Response & Intelligence Team already could hear phrase in trailer that CIA can’t be involved – that is unintended joke of Oliver Thompson. Since when intelligence service started to act open? Screenplay of this part more than once will have a character who could escape though he was surrounded from all positions and a personage survived sniper’s shot. Acts of some personalities have no motifs as with evil doctor saved life of Lady Death and betrayed terrorist organization, which wears tasteless and cheap green suits. Nobody of characters use advantage of surprise element when they go on armed attack, because they would succeeded.


There is only one pleasant for watching. A cinematographer Doug Schwartz knows how make a spectacular work with camera and he gives incredible look to historically beautiful Malta, which isn’t spoiled by filmmakers yet, because an island is already became a place of movie productions of all levels.


I instantly accepted misunderstanding replace of Lady Death’s actress. I couldn’t watch on happening story in which will come a comedic element with two-bit efforts and then will turning to nonsense with reality in scene on plane where acts and dialogs have “blockbuster cringe” effect – I moved to clicking from there and saw more delirious director’s acts as playing lullaby in machine gun shooting. It was lost of beautifulness of stagemaking on which Thompson was capable. Many times I caught moments how main characters do pathos walking in raw for do collective shooting from guns. Gritty realism of all previous parts was replaced on simple action in the end. I wish that series will return to basics though I have a solid thought that it willn’t likely be.

bottom of page