top of page
Search
  • Lukaschik Gleb

Review derails constantly. Windfall and Panama.


My common with Tony Curtis in mowing lawn of his third wife Lesley Allen (a wonderful lady by the way.) in summer 2009. Not so much as I had a mask from Scream films, which have inappropriateness in watching. I thought it’s a comedy in switching on last, maybe, thirty minutes of the second part. I didn’t see any other films after learning on series. The current last installment had new scriptwriters when it’s original author allowed to have producer functions now by making money without writing. Trailer showed that nothing will better. And I didn’t understand why I downloaded and through magical clicking found revelation that I shouldn’t two, holy Christ, hours watch “made in Hollywood” what is same effect in quality as “made in China”. Getting of information on Texas Chainsaw Massacre 2022 (I dislike anything use for continuation same original title and it doesn’t matter that without article “the”.) weren’t confirmation for me (yes, from people made horrible Evil Dead 2013 and implemented to generic a nice idea of Don’t Breathe, which I missed, and I just knew that their current involvement will in Alien film what horrifies more than tension of script of any part.). I successfully rejected Halloween 2018 from it Texas Chainsaw Massacre 2022 used formula of became strong and wacky a final girl of original movie where also an original scriptwriter Kim Henkel keeps producer functions what he does for decades. Multiple facts and trailer were revealing travesty what didn’t stop, again, my intention and I downloaded. Through magical clicking I deleted little minutes later. I presume it was a couple of weeks ago.


Well, about now. I tried to watch two films in Friday.


Panama – 63 minutes.


Mark Neveldine was from duet of directors Neveldine/Taylor who staged magnificent Crank, The Gamer and two not so cute movies. They entered in cinema with burst of creativity in Crank, which about that a main personage must keep high adrenaline for survive for that he does extreme things. Right stream for madness was in The Gamer, which, perhaps, one film whose authors know what is gaming. An elegant action with Gerard Butler remembers for lovable scenes where he drinks, fuel of a car and Marline Manson’s Sweet Dreams (I don’t like remixes, but that’s nice made.). Duo turned out to that is not duo anymore after that flick. They decided to act apart. Neveldine in separation did The Vatican Tapes hadn’t nothing of duet’s craziness and it had Chris Morgan in scriptwriters – and that’s all for understanding.


After long hiatus Mark Neveldine staged a screenplay by studios such Saban Films and BondIt, which never release beyond of simplicity movies and where for some time presents Mel “I like his beard” Gibson who currently busied in such flicks (for what he does if he is one of the richest actors?).

Crazy individuality of director doesn’t make Panama as one of draught films, but he can’t fix a screenplay in which nothing reasonable happens. And in twixt of that Mel Gibson narrates to emptiness. Whole story on selling chopper to CONTRAS turns out to confusion. It has no necessity if America was going to invade in Panama. A scriptwriter doesn’t want to use imagination. Cole Hauser’s main character lost his wife and gets a job, which initially doesn’t want to take. Even in that pattern was lazily used. He changes his mind in few seconds as just accidently sees a girl who from dangerous circles in describing of other personage, but no idea what’s her bad when her place is demonstration of sex scenes. One hour of monotony and one colonel decides to kill without reason characters, which were seen for few seconds and one of them is the main hero…the film is walking from point A to point B in somewhere of desert.


Windfall – 25 minutes.


From a screenwriter of Se7en (it wasn’t impressive!) who also was a script doctor of The Game (I saw the final twenty minutes, plot’s idea is unbelievable drivel.) and Fight Club (hah! – it’s about screenplay, it’s impossibility of events that it was by one man.). Jason Segel (I saw few episodes of How…dare you film it! – the authors of that show thought that is a humor.) is only person in that trio who doesn’t look teenager. However, plot had something of potential. Perhaps, that wasn’t of known Netflix.


Not usual generic, but among usual talentless. Director does look-alike to black-and-white movies of 40s and 50s and not so far (after intro credits) he can keep to imitation. Segel’s eating of oranges isn’t natural, he does it for camera. His next actions don’t have necessity for a story and his character. Urinating in shower, finish of orange juice and throw emptied glass away for camera again. I imagined how Humphrey Bogart could do with that personage as I recalled him in masterpiece The Treasure of the Sierra Madre. “Fucking flowers” – discloses quality of dialogs. I adored silence before that. And Lily Collins still can’t act since I saw her in Abduction. She complains on circulation – I hadn’t regret to her character and didn’t stay long in watching.


bottom of page