top of page
Search
  • Lukaschik Gleb

Review shatters. The Last Mercenary – 55 minutes.


It doesn’t mean who in production, but a film by Netflix is always generic. A describing con for characteristic. Jean-Claude Van Damme hasn’t fine film since 2015, but I still watch almost every his film accurate to credits. Not every great actor has this thing today. Director and scriptwriter David Charhon in attention for acceptable De l'autre côté du périph (2012). Personal expectations were generic and I’ve got of what I expected.


Serious for be a comedy. Unacceptable serious for absurd in right demonstration. I’ve got in fifteen minutes that action and scenes are stretched. It doesn’t need of almost two hours. I didn’t understand of ongoing and didn’t catch conversations. Everything was a psychiatric hospital by normal people. Unknown, but definitely a skilled performer Philippe Morier-Genoud did weird in playing of a general. The film collapses to be funny. And by that grimaces and slow pronouncing take odd place and look awkward. Perhaps, had a place of French humor, which isn’t for me, because too much look alike of flat and low point things. I had exceptions in laughing while funny was in exaggerated sounds usually were using for breaking of part of body.


I don’t want to parse a foolishness of a screenplay. 80s Miami where primary attention to Scarface with Al Pacino shares director’s presumable likes with mine, but nothing exclusive from Charhon who rarely gave a good shot and made excellent fight in bath. More distraction I had to demonstration of nowadays things as Instagram culture, these millennials in faces, thinking, acting and et cetera of my usual express of disgust to modern.

I did estranged things in watching. Listened embedded One Way or Another in chase scene. Looked on Paris. Wrote words for this film review. Impression by plenty in acting and smooth kicking of Jean-Claude Van Damme and a capital of France, which sometimes showed unattractive districts hold for so long.


A film for association was La Totale! by Claude Zidi, which is a comedy about spies. It has an excellent humor and can in one to be a serious and sneer at espionage. Not so far ago I rewatched L’Operaion Corned-Beef and I can tell that if I’ll do it again now – I will still loudly laugh. That’s Jean-Marie Poire. I like his quick directing.

bottom of page