top of page
Search
  • Lukaschik Gleb

Review derails. Chief of Station - 46 minutes.

Oh, Budapest! It’s incredible… Nah, I wasn’t there.

 

Aaron Eckhart became an action star what I like it as I see. He acts quite wonderful in Chief of Station, but you can obviously read him through looking on his performance “this stuff isn’t diligent written and it doesn’t require my best efforts which I did in Thank You for Smoking and, by the way, I love carrot pies”. Sometimes he is not convincing by showing wrong feeling and emotion in situation.

 

A movie is already has lack of seriousness in intro scene in which CIA operation with taking envelope away from FSB agents is act of amateurish circus clown group did in mess work with cameras. Both sides know each other and they’re supposed to have joint tea with big cookies in Sunday by this logic. However, it is no comedy despite on that element of acquaintance.

It willn’t one time in a film that acts of characters will with no point. It will hurtful for mind if begin to think about motives and reasons and if I will begin to explain them, I’ll go to basement for take a bottle of Ballantine’s and I’ll quit it in one gulp after I’ll finish describing. I’m not in drinking mood, therefore I willn’t write.

Except that one which made to click forward for see for what I wanted to watch this movie. Eckhart was taken by FSB and have eccentric weird conversation with it’s chief of station… Anyway, they are all attacked by unknown force, which kills all agents of Mother Russia (however, chief of station will suddenly survive in the end.). A lead hero situates on safety upper floor whereas opposite side came from down of the first. Eckhart could ran right or left, but he grabs thick wire and descends by that in front of row attackers who make impression by missing him in shooting. Moreover, that background was derelict pool built in communist times when protagonist was interrogating. This place becomes an abandoned factory from communist period when cameras installed on the first floor. Magic of cinema and no more. Eckhart stays untouched by bullets and takes a car on which he does escape. Foes never try to surround and do any approach to unarmed man. A protagonist drives away from premise but his car effectively turns upside down. However, Eckhart will be saved by his colleague who without expression makes few nominal shots into bunch of enemy who carry on to be mostly passive and their leader in performance of Daniel Bernhardt asks to stop with fire. However, main personage’s friend is actually on side of these nefarious guys. He rides Eckhart to location of people from which he just moved away. Don’t tell me that deserted factory in the middle of nowhere wasn’t a good place for take him.

 

Anyway, Jesse V. Johnson, who is a director of this, does his trademark needy action staging. He makes it with mess with cameras where can’t get clear in what happened and that “because” can be in cut. Johnson stages action with familiar cheapness as, in a final confrontation, an explosion from shot of grenade launcher from AR-15 is a sparkling cracker.

 

Talking in Яussian (yeap, it would correct to write in this way.) was usually understandable if I’ve sharpened an ear, but all of them speak with a big accent. Only one Negro said his phrase clearly, I would take him for local. I will not ask about whether or not was following to political correctness, but movie isn’t so much irritating about that. Also Swiss actor and martial artist Daniel Bernhardt plays a personage who from Caucasus in this little less than inventive screenplay.

 

Daniel Bernhardt was put on making and filming fighting scenes in Chief of Station. That was a single reason why I wanted to watch film. His choreography is mesmerizing by creativity, living of personages (I lovely love the doing of outside in rumble acts as it was when one side spitted.) and what became a factor today is that I believe that I see fighting. Very few misfires which in lack of credibility of realism, but choreography doesn’t deprive in greatness. It was spectacular for eyes to watch on Daniel Bernhardt’s hyping combat with Aaron Eckhart. Swiss master is incredible as always and it was expected. I’m wishful that this talented man become a director as I wanted since watching his short flick Fetch. I’m excited by that his ambition can be realized because he said in one interview on attachment to three projects.


bottom of page