top of page
Search
  • Lukaschik Gleb

Review derails. The Machine – 47 minutes.


I wasn’t prone to laughing on comedy sketch of Bert Kreischer on his visit of Muscovy in nineties. Director Peter Atencio is familiar with comedy by Jean-Claude Van Johnson and Key and Peele. The meaningful was that one of two scriptwriters is Kevin Biegel who was involved in different writing posts of Scrubs. All these mentioned shows are, probably, the only made me laughing among of contemporary. Trailer of The Machine caused this right reaction. I decided to watch with crossed fingers on that I didn’t see all jokes.


Am I watch drama? Am I watch semi-biography? Am I watch pseudo-biography? Everybody are screaming and crying. I don’t see a comedy as it was intended. Playing himself Bert Kreischer has conflict with every member of his family. Multiple times in reading of synopsis of modern cinema I read “estranged close relative”. Today is hardly to find a flick, which doesn’t contain this detail. A simple script of The Machine is innovative by that a protagonist has many estranged relatives. I was sure from beginning that he will find a peace will all of them to the end to which I didn’t wish to click after forty-seven minutes. A tattooed man isn’t intriguing, his look is exposing that a trouble will come. Directing and cinematography are mostly wonderfully made and I was excited that episode made as documentary is credible for look as that. I liked a couple of jokes, but they were seen in trailer. I was asking many times, “Is it supposed to be a joke?” Too much of them on low point, attempts to be and pointless tension for that and as well as for tell a story.


I knew it’s Serbia, but I could accept for Muscovy. Same with Serbians playing Muscovites. Their Russian is understandable. It contains little in mistakes. One conversation talks about 10 and 11 passengers when 11 and 12 numbers in subtitles. A film contains an orthographic mistake “Saint Petersberg”, but all seen titles in Russians were correct though some of them were written with mind of English speaker. Even despite Russian language took multiple English words for the last years, which pronounce identically to original or add a Russian punctuation in the end. However, written in Russian “Empress Apartments” wouldn’t use “apartments” and that showed a wordcount is incorrect for Russian grammar. I assume, there was using of translator on computer. And I want to point that there is no analogue to “sir” in Russian as it is written in subtitle though it wasn’t in conversation.

Wide absence of knowledge on how Muscovy looked in the end of nineties and it’s current stance. The contemporary times reminding nineties by their mafia who surprisingly still control territories (they do this in Moscow!) and shoot each other in daylight (!) and public places (!!). I never heard that these both things occurred in main towns in nineties. All members of Muscovy mafias covered in tattoos what is true, but all bandits are overloaded of them and look as members of MS-13. Moreover, images hasn’t meaning. Such presentation of Muscovy criminals is stereotypical. Other factor that this type of mafia in extinction as of today. Muscovy of nineties is associative with late eighties or early nineties. It’s less possible about a typewriter, which presence in student dormitory I couldn’t understand. That’s right, there were still a lot of commie cars, but the streets weren’t fulfilled of them to that time. Kreischer says that he sits in similar train, but commie train doesn’t look as that.


A pointless and lack in originality screenplay. I was watching on white wall. Appearance of fighting and shooting don’t change this installed mood. Iva Babic slowly moves and kicks five men who always in passivity. I don’t believe that she has these skills in wielding. A failure with her performance is overacting and, moreover, I was in strong discomfort in watching this. Bert Kreischer can act and once he was unconvincing when he experienced state that he killed a man where no drama and no comedy were demonstrated. Mark Hamill shows known that he is a great actor (what absolutely never say on him as a person.) even though he has a few not credible moments whose initial guilt is screenplay.


I watched more than need again. Understanding was in less ten minutes, but I gave chance. And after forty-seven minutes would be naïve to assume that I’ll get a comedy.

bottom of page