top of page
Search
  • Lukaschik Gleb

The Irresistible Mad Craving for Freedom. Chapter IV: “The vision of beautiful.”

The sixth week became dry in Thursday when I’ve learnt a system of Polish centers went down. I never can get used to disappointment though I live in that. I’ve learnt about patience after all while I always strive to keep cool. It was Friday, which was usual if don’t count a little dealing with the big book, which I had in times in the last two days and mostly with the new articles, and, as well, an accomplishment with investigation of one film.

 

I wanted to revisit Gone with the Wind for years. I watched it two times and the second one was more than two decades ago. I liked this movie. I saw few pieces and scenes in a last couple of years in which I recalled something but that required renewal. It was in that Thursday what was in a right time, because I did learning about Civil War in cinema lately. However, I was in land with no good mood and it wouldn’t happen if not an accidental push. I looked on image of Stunning Italian Lady. She talked about movies. Among mentioned by her was Gone with the Wind. That title was in my mind for days. In Wednesday, I’ve learnt needful moments in biography of Margaret Mitchell, which contributed to understanding. I want to believe, Stunning Italian Lady will forgive me here too. For that what I’m thinking about Gone with the Wind.

 

I wished to shut down three times in less ten minutes. An intro text talking on “land of cavaliers” and “gallantry” of South in period of Confederacy, screaming from window black Mammy asks to return running away white-skinned Scarlett and two slaves discuss on who says when working day is over. There were South families who were good to slaves, but Gone with the Wind reaches surrealism by that both sides are almost equal to each other. Moreover, a film shows that such relations are everywhere. Slaves do servant work, but they’re happy and their personalities are respected. I couldn’t look on this Confederate wonderland by seeing two Negroes suited in good clean clothes by which they had an aristocratic look and one of them was with a cylinder hat on head. It was a moment when I wanted to move fast with watching.

There was other big reason to end. I have dislike to melodrama. Moreover, storyline of Gone with the Wind is pulp fiction cheapness of these books with softcover. And this one is a reckless melodrama due to such acts of characters whose behavior is fantastic. Also it contains typical of genre’s elements as somebody dies in giving birth, hits his head and becomes delirious and many other similar approaches did more than once and made for creation of tragedy what doesn’t make me to believe in story and personages. Such waste of mesmerizing staging and acting (though there was misfire in performance in episode of marital rape in which after talking between lead personages perceives that it was a petty hooliganism from Rhett Butler.).

Almost an hour passed, I still was with intention to watch it at whole, because I was interested to see how present the Union Army. However, I began doing “fast forward” there. I couldn’t stand “gallantry of South” in scene of donating of a golden cigarette case and a wedding ring. It was a mythical South which was imagined and told by Confederates and their disciples.

It was disgusting to see text such as “And desperately the gallant remnants of an army marched out to face of foe…” and watch on smiling Negroes. However, an abomination begins from a title by it’s meaning. I came to places with the Union Army who usually are unpleasant people, they only burn houses and do pillaging. An episode with lonely Union soldier wanting to rob a manor could be probable, but after all, it was maliciously done as well as same with disgusting appearance of that invaded man. Maybe, I would finish if a snotty melodrama was only, but I couldn’t watch on lie. I only interested, was it intentionally or not, a Confederate orchestra in Atlanta playing When Johnny Comes Marching Home after few days of Battle of Gettysburg. That music (it was with text alongside.) was written by Union soldier Patrick Gilmore and a first sheet was published almost three months after of this aforementioned combat.

 

I forgot for few hours, but I came later about live with Michael Franzese in became in Thursday traditionally to which I joined a little bit later. It was deliverance from experienced disgust. And that was another incredible touch with civilization. He read and answered on everything what I wrote.

 

Tomorrow is a day when access to answer of Green Card lottery will be given.

bottom of page